Community News

Election results 2021

Election results across Bristol cast on Thursday 6 May have showed a surge in support for the Green Party across the board – with four elections taking place on one day.

Voters had to go to the polls to elect Bristol City Councillors and the city Mayor as well as the Metro Mayor and Avon and Somerset’s Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC).

The Greens are now the joint biggest party in Bristol City Council, taking 12 seats off Labour and scooping 24 of the 70 seats up for grabs. Conservatives now have 14 seats and Liberal Democrats eight.

In Filwood Ward, the Greens came second after Labour for the first time and in the Mayoral election it was Labour’s Marvin Rees and the Green Party’s Sandy Hore-Ruthven who were running head to head, with Mr Rees winning by just over 136,000 votes.

See election results below:

Bristol City Council elections
Filwood ward

In Filwood ward the turnout was 25.45 per cent of the 10,062 electorate – with 2,561 votes cast.

This was lower than the city average of just over 41 per cent.

Labour councillor Chris Jackson who is well known in the area, serving since 2006, was re-elected with 947 votes. During the COVID-19 lockdowns he worked tirelessly behind the scenes to deliver food and medicines to local residents.

Labour Councillor Chris Jackson who was re-elected to Filwood ward.

Zoe Goodman, a member of Knowle West Future and an active campaigner on housing issues, is the new Labour councillor receiving 1,023 votes. She replaces former councillor Jeff Lovell who stepped down before the election.

Zoe Goodman is the new Labour councillor for Filwood.

The Green Party received the second highest number of votes after Labour, reflecting the city-wide trend.

Full results below:

Filwood Ward

ALLARD CrispinLiberal Democrat138 
CLAPP Robin VictorTrade Unionist and Socialist Coalition116  
Labour Party1,023 Elected
HANSEN HarrietGreen Party546 
JACKSON Christopher David Labour Party947Elected
KURIAKOSE JojimonConservative Party310 
NORMAN JackieLiberal Democrat197 
SMITH BarneyGreen Party461 
Conservative Party446 

Watch a webcast of the Filwood result declaration.

Knowle Ward

In the Knowle Ward the turnout was just over 43% from an electorate of 10,030, with 4,315 votes cast.

Liberal Democrat councillors Chris Davies and Gary Hopkins were both re-elected with 1,677 and 1,648 votes respectively. Labour polled the second highest number of votes and the Green Party was third.

Liberal Democrat Cllr Chris Davies re-elected for Knowle ward. Image Bristol City Council.
Cllr Gary Hopkins who is also leader of the Liberal Democrats at Bristol City Council. Image Bristol City Council.

Full results below:

CLARKE Natasha
Green Party921 
DAVIES ChrisLiberal Democrat1,677 Elected
GAGE Brandon
Labour Party1,085 
GILPIN DianeConservative Party293 
HILL Domenico
Trade Unionist and
Socialist Coalition
HOPKINS GaryLiberal Democrat1,648Elected
MCALLISTER Patrick David
Green Party542 
ROGERS JennyConservative Party371 
TEDDER Michele
Labour Party1,006

See the  webcast of the Knowle result declaration.

For election results across Bristol visit:

Bristol Mayor

Marvin Rees (Labour Party) has been re-elected Mayor of Bristol with a total of 140,599 votes counted on Saturday 8 May.

Mr Rees received 59,276 votes overall and Green Party candidate Sandy Hore-Ruthven came in second, with 45,663 votes – after adding up both first and second preference votes.

No candidate received over 50 per cent of the first preference vote.

The results were announced at City Academy Bristol – the Mayor’s old school.

Re-elected Bristol Mayor Marvin Rees giving his acceptance speech at City Academy Bristol on Saturday.

In his acceptance speech, Mayor Rees said: “Getting elected the first time is one thing, getting re-elected is of a whole different order And part of the blessing of being re-elected is an affirmation that people like what you’ve been doing.

“Some don’t. But on the whole, people like the way we’ve tried to lead the city, we’ve tried to be inclusive, we’ve focused on delivering social justice in the face of climate and ecological emergencies.”

Results of the stage one count were:

Tom Baldwin – Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition – 3,194 votes

Robert Vernon Clarke – Reform UK – 806 votes

Sean Patrick Donnelly – Independent – 4,956 votes

Dr. Caroline Gooch – Liberal Democrat – 15,517 votes

Sandy Hore-Ruthven – Green Party – 36,331 votes

John Langley – Independent – 1,528 votes

Marvin Jonathan Rees – Labour Party – 50,510 votes

Oska Damon Shaw – 389 votes

Alastair Peter Lindsay Watson – Conservative Party – 25,816 votes

The result of the second stage count were:

Sandy Hore-Ruthven – Green Party – 9,322

Marvin Jonathan Rees – Labour Party – 8,766

A recording of the declaration of results can be found on the council’s YouTube channel.

A breakdown of the results can be found on the council’s website.

Metro Mayor
Dan Norris with his dog Angel after the results were announced on the SS Great Britain on Saturday (8 May). Image courtesy of WECA.

The new Mayor of the West of England is former Labour MP Dan Norris – who won the most first and second preference votes with a total of 125,482.

He replaces the first Metro Mayor, Conservative Tim Bowles who stepped down before the election.

Second was the Conservative candidate Samuel Wiliams with 85,389 votes.

Green candidate Jerome Thomas came third in the first round with 54,919 votes and Stephen Williams standing for the Lib Dems polled 41,193 votes.

The total number of ballot papers verified was 256,632 – with a turnout of 36.61 per cent.

The Regional or Metro Mayor leads the West of England Combined Authority (WECA), responsible for the development of regional business, skills, housing and transport – issues that impact people living and working across the region.

WECA also leads on the recovery plan for the region, to make sure that the right support and infrastructure is in place for residents and businesses. 

Mr Norris said: “Obviously I’m most grateful to the people of the West of England who voted for me today. I’m very proud of our region. It’s a great region, but it can be even better still. Their endorsement means a lot to me.”

The official declaration and Dan Norris’s speech is available to watch at:

For full results from the West of England Mayoral election visit

Police and Crime Commissioner

Conservative candidate Mark Shelford has been elected as Avon and Somerset’s next police and crime commissioner (PCC).

Mark Shelford (Cons) is the new PCC. Image courtesy of Avon and Somerset PCC

He received 161,319 votes across Bristol, Bath, Somerset and South Gloucestershire, after second preference votes had been counted, with runner up Labour’s Kerry Barker receiving 146,293

The former Army officer and deputy leader of Bath and North East Somerset Council replaces Sue Mountstevens, who served as PCC from 2012 before standing down before the election. 

PCCs are elected to oversee how crime is tackled in their police force area and to deliver an effective and efficient police service.

Mr Shelford will also have the responsibility of appointing a new chief constable – after Andy Marsh announced he will step down in July.

He said “…I’m very humbled that local people have given me their votes. I absolutely relish the chance to get stuck in and make a difference in Avon and Somerset.”

See full results of the PCC elections at